West Bengal Election Phase 4 Live: West Bengal (WB) Assembly Election Phase 4 Voting Live News, West Bengal Assembly Election Phase 4 Voting Percentage Live Updates

by Emma


By: FE Online |

Updated: April 10, 2021 9:20:42 pm

West Bengal Election 2021 Phase 4 Voting Live Updates: Due to the Cooch Behar violence, the Election Commission has adjourned polling in a booth of Sitalkuchi seat.

West Bengal Election 2021 Voting Live Updates: As many as 373 candidates are in fray from 44 constituencies.

West Bengal Election Phase 4 Polling Highlights: West Bengal on Saturday recorded a voter turnout of around 76.16 per cent by 5 pm as the poll-bound constituencies was marred by violence. Five people were killed, including four in the firing by CISF personnel, during the fourth phase of polling on Saturday for 44 assembly seats of West Bengal, triggering a political firestorm. Four people were killed as central forces opened fire allegedly after coming under attack from locals, who “attempted to snatch their rifles”, in West Bengal’s Cooch Behar district, police said. The Election Commission ordered stopping the voting exercise at polling station number 126 in Sitalkuchi where the incident happened when polling was underway. “A scuffle took place, and locals gheraoed them and attempted to snatch their rifles, following which the central forces opened fire. Further details are awaited,” a police official said. The EC has sought a detailed report on the incident. According to official sources, the preliminary report submitted by EC’s special police observer Vivek Dubey said a huge mob of around 350-400 people had gheraoed the central forces, following which they fired in “self-defence”. The incident led to violence in the area where bombs were hurled, prompting central forces to baton-charge to bring the situation under control. In another incident, an 18-year-old voter, Ananda Barman, was gunned down outside booth number 85 in Pathantuli, also in Sitalkuchi, after clashes broke out between activists of the ruling TMC and the BJP. Condoling the deaths in Cooch Behar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi Saturday requested the Election Commission to take stern action against those responsible for the incident and blamed the ruling TMC for perpetrating violence during the polls. He also accused Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee of instigating people against the central forces.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee demanded the resignation of Home Minister Amit Shah and a reply from him on firing by the central forces which led to the death of people “standing in the queue to vote”. Asserting that she had apprehended such an incident all along, Banerjee said, “After killing so many people, they (Election Commission) are saying the firing was in self-defence. They should feel ashamed.” “This is a lie….the central forces opened fire on people standing in the line for voting, killing 4 in Sitalkuchi. I had been apprehending the forces would act in such a manner for long. As the BJP knows it has lost the people’s mandate, they are conspiring to kill people,” she said at a rally in North 24 Parganas. The chief minister said she will visit the scene of the incident. In the Ganguly Bagan area in Jadavpur constituency, the booth agent of CPI(M) candidate Sujan Chakraborty was reportedly attacked by a “fake voter”, who threw chilli powder at her, the officials said. A central police contingent was rushed to the spot following the incident. In Bangor in South 24 Parganas, clashes were reported between ISF and TMC workers after the former alleged the ruling party was not allowing their polling agents to enter the booth. In Chanditala in Hooghly, CPI(M) activists scuffled with TMC supporters outside a booth.

Read More

Live Blog

West Bengal Election Phase-4 Live: West Bengal Assembly Election Phase 4 Polls Live Updates, WB Election 2021 Phase 4 Voting Percentage Live

In another development, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress political strategist Prashant Kishor has reacted to the leaked Clubhouse chat audio in which he allegedly said that Mamata Banerjee and Narendra Modi are equally popular in West Bengal and there is a polarisation of one community in favour of the BJP. “Glad BJP’s taking my clubhouse chat more seriously than words of its leaders. On selective use of part of conversation, urge them to release full conversation,” said Kishor after BJP’s Co-incharge West Bengal Amit Malviya shared the purported audio clips on Twitter. “In a public chat on Club House, Mamata Banerjee’s election strategist concedes that even in TMC’s internal surveys, BJP is winning. The vote is for Modi, polarisation is a reality, the SCs (27% of WB’s population), Matuas are all voting for the BJP! BJP has cadre on ground,” tweeted Malviya. In another tweet, he said, “Another candid admission by Mamata Banerjee’s election strategist – all that the Left, Congress and TMC ecosystem have done in the last 20 years is Muslim appeasement.” Earlier today, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress has written to Election Commission alleging that BJP goons are creating a ruckus outside several booths in Sitalkuchi, Natalbari, Tufanganj and Dinhata and preventing TMC agents from entering the booth. TMC has asked the EC to take necessary actions. Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president JP Nadda have urged voters to exercise their franchise in record numbers.
Prominent faces going to polls in this phase include Babul Supriyo who has locked horns with sitting TMC MLA Arup Biswas from Tollygunj, TMC’s secretary-general Partha Chatterjee against film actor Srabanti Chatterjee of the BJP from Behala West, TMC turncoat Rajib Banerjee from Domjur on a BJP ticket, and BJP MPs Locket Chatterjee and Nisith Pramanik from Chuchura and Dinhata, respectively. The polling began at 7 am and will conclude at 6.30 pm. A total of 1,15,81,022 voters will decide the fate of 373 candidates in constituencies spread over Howrah (Part II), South 24 Parganas(Part III), Hooghly (Part II), Alipurduar and Cooch Behar. Of the 44 constituencies, nine assembly constituencies are in Howrah, 11 in South 24 Parganas, five in Alipurduar, nine in Coochbehar and ten in Hooghly.


Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Comment